American Hellenic Institute


Facebook Image
AHI Hosts 24th Hellenic Heritage and National Public Service Awards Dinner
March 10, 1999 No. 08/99 (202) 785-8430

AHI Hosts 24th Hellenic Heritage and National Public Service Awards Dinner

The American Hellenic Institute (AHI) honored five distinguished Greek Americans, a Member of Congress, and a Greek Woman Immigrant Pioneer at their 24th Anniversary Hellenic Heritage and National Public Service Awards Dinner held on March 6, 1999 at the Four Seasons Hotel in Washington, D.C.,

The dinner was attended by over 350 family, friends and supporters of the AHI from across the country. Special guests included Bishop George Komanon, Secretary of the Army Louis Caldera, Senator Paul Sarbanes, Greek Ambassador Alexander Philon, Cypriot Ambassador Erato Kozakou-Marcoullis, the world-renowned singer and philanthropist Nana Mouskouri, and international guests from Greece, Cyprus, Canada, and Venezuela. Mr. John C. Metaxas, Anchor and correspondent of CNN Financial News, served as Master of Ceremonies.

The Honorees who received the Hellenic Heritage National Public Service Award for their outstanding careers in public service were Congressman Robert Andrews (D-1st NJ), and Ms. Theodora Sideropoulos Hancock, the co-founder and current President of the Hellenic American Women's Council (HAWC).

Hellenic Heritage Achievement Awards were presented to Dr. Martina Souretis Horner, former president of Radcliffe College, Dr. Constantine Papadakis, President Drexel University, Mr. Peter L. Venetis, President and CEO of Atlantic Bank of New York, and C. Dean Metropoulos, Chairman and CEO of C. Dean Metropoulos and Company.

A special award was presented to Mrs. Alexandra Glekas as a tribute to the Greek Women Immigrant Pioneers. Mrs. Glekas symbolizes a whole generation of Greek women immigrants who came to the United States before World War II and who left an indelible mark in the development of the Greek American community. This tribute was accompanied by the inaugural showing of a video tribute telling the stories of several of these women produced by AHI Chairman Jim Marketos and his wife Denise.

In introductory remarks, the Honorees were praised both for their outstanding personal accomplishments and for the service they had rendered to their communities. In each case, their contributions went "above and beyond the call of duty."

In their acceptance speeches, the Honorees placed great emphasis on the values of education, hard work, and family support. They spoke of their Greek heritage and their faith. They accepted their awards with gratitude and humility, expressing the hope that they would be an inspiration to others.

Prominent guests included Mr. George Spyropoulos, a major benefactor of Hellenic House, Mr. Angelo Tsakopoulos, founder of the Basil Vryonis Center for Hellenism and the Western Policy Center, Dr. Spiro Macris, former Supreme President, Order of AHEPA, Mr. Tim Maniatis, Executive Director, Order of AHEPA, Mr. Phil Savopoulos, President of the Board, Hellenic American Academy, Mr. Ted Spyropoulos, President, Hellenic American National Council, members of the Greek Parliament Mr. Vassilis Magginas and Mrs. Fani Petrallia, Professor Van Coufoudakis, Chairman, Foundation for Hellenic Studies, Mr. John Rigas, President and CEO Adelphia, Dr. Stamatios Krimigis, a former honoree, Mr. Alki Panagoulias, former national team coach for Greece and Team America, Rhode Island State Senator Leonidas Raptakis, Mr. Markos Marinakis, former President Chian Foundation of America, and a delegation from Lockheed Martin.